CANCELACION DE LA ESTAMPILLA COMMEMORATIVA DEL XI CONGRESO INTERNACIONAL DE LA LEPRA

OFFICIAL STAMPING OF THE XI INTERNATIONAL LEPROSY CONGRESS COMMEMORATIVE POSTAGE STAMP

OBLITÉRATION DU TIMBRE COMMÉMORATIF DU XI CONGRÈS INTERNATIONAL DE LA LEPRE







DIA DE EMISION No. 353

DECLARATORIA INAUGURAL POR EL PRESIDENTE DE MÉXICO, LICENCIADO JOSÉ LÓPEZ PORTILLO

Hoy, 13 de noviembre de 1978, declaro formalmente inaugurados los trabajos del XI Congreso Internacional de la Lepra, y hago votos por que se vean coronados por el éxito.

INAUGURAL STATEMENT BY THE PRESIDENT OF MEXICO, JOSÉ LÓPEZ PORTILLO

Today, the 13th of November 1978, I formally declare the opening of the activities of the XI International Congress of Leprosy, and I hope that they will be crowned with success.

LA DÉCLARATION INAUGURALE PAR LE PRÉSIDENT DU MEXIQUE, JOSÉ LÓPEZ PORTILLO

Aujourd'hui, le 13 novembre 1978, je déclare avec formalité le début des activités du Congrès XI International de la Lèpre, et J'espere qu'elles seront couronnées du succès.

INTERNATIONAL LEPROSY ASSOCIATION

General Meeting of Members

A General Meeting of Members of the International Leprosy Association was held on Saturday, 18 November 1978, at 0900 hours, during the XI International Leprosy Congress in Mexico City.

Welcome. The President, Dr. J. Convit, called the meeting to order, and welcomed Members of the Association who were present (125 Members had requested, and had been supplied with, copies of the draft revised Constitution).

Greetings to Honorary Office-Holders. The meeting approved the suggestion of the President that letters of greeting should be sent by the Secretary-Treasurer to the Honorary Office-Holders of the Association. Dr. Robert Cochrane, President Emeritus, had sent a letter of good wishes for the success of the present Congress.

Letters would therefore be sent to: Dr. R. G. Cochrane, President Emeritus; Dr. K. Kitamura, Honorary Vice-President; Dr. F. Contreras, Honorary Vice-President; and also to Dr. J. N. Rodriguez, Vice-President.

Greetings and thanks to former Councillors. The President referred to the distinguished services rendered to the cause of leprosy by those Councillors who were not

able to participate in the present Congress. All three had indicated that they would not wish to be nominated again for the office. The meeting agreed that letters of thanks for past services and good wishes should be sent to: Dr. O. W. Hasselblad, Dr. B. D. Molesworth, and Dr. Y. Yoshie.

In addition to his service as Councillor, Dr. Hasselblad had also placed the Association in his debt by acting as Executive Officer of the JOURNAL. The members wished to record their indebtedness to Dr. Hasselblad.

Deaths of former Members of the Association. The President asked the Secretary-Treasurer to read out the names of former members who had died since the last Congress (in Bergen 1973). The following names were read: Office-Holders, Ernest Muir and E. Agricola; Members, A. Agius-Ferrante, Vincent Barry, A. G. Bulle, E. R. Davison, Rae Dungan, R. Melsom, A. C. Pereira-Filho and N. R. Sloan.

On the President's suggestion, the names of certain distinguished colleagues (not members of the Association) who had passed away since 1973 were also read, these included: L. P. Aujoulat, Albert Dubois, Raoul Follereau, Yoshinobu Hayashi, V. R. Khanolkar, L. R.